This is the "The Book" page of the "On Our Minds 2012-2013: Art and the Human Spirit" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

On Our Minds 2012-2013: Art and the Human Spirit   Tags: art, history, music, nonviolence, on_our_minds, performance  

Join the Mantor Library's annual reading program for 2012-2013, featuring the book The Cellist of Sarajevo by Steven Galloway
Last Updated: Aug 14, 2013 URL: Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

The Book Print Page

On Our Minds

OOM logo

Each year the Mantor Library sponsors a reading program, On Our Minds. Our goal is to get everyone reading the same book and to offer the campus community an opportunity to talk with one another about the book, reflect on the theme, and come away from the experience having learned something about ourselves and others.

The On Our Minds 2012-2013 program theme is "Art and the Human Spirit" and the book is:

The Cellist of Sarajevo by Steven Galloway

Mantor Library has purchased multiple copies of the book which will be on the display case in the library lobby and available for check out beginning June 1, 2012.

As in the past, the books will have a two-week borrowing period (no renewals).

Discussion Guides

The Cellist of Sarajevo

Book Cover

In this elegiac novel inspired by an actual event during the siege of Sarajevo in 1992, Steven Galloway explores the brutality of war and the redemptive power of music. Crafted with unforgettable imagery and heartbreaking simplicity, his small book speaks forcefully to the triumph of the spirit in the face of overwhelming despair.

In a city ravaged by war, a musician plays his cello for twenty-two days at the site of a mortar attack, in memory of the fallen. Among the strangers drawn into the orbit of his music are a young father in search of water for his family, an older man in search of the humanity he once knew, and a young woman, a sniper, who will decide the fate of the cellist and the kind of person she wants to be.

(The Washington Post)


Loading  Loading...