This is the "Home" page of the "Citation Styles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citation Styles   Tags: citation_styles, copyright, fair_use, plagiarism  

Covers a variety of different citations styles for citing sources used in research.
Last Updated: Apr 17, 2014 URL: http://umf.maine.libguides.com/citations Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Citation Styles

There are number of different citation styles and they vary by research discipline.  

This tutorial includes information on several of the most commonly used citation styles (MLA, APA, and CSE), as well as a few discipline-specific ones that are required by faculty in some UMF courses.

If you are not sure which citation style to use for a course, ask your professor.

BeaverLogo

Citing Your Sources and RefWorks

The best way to avoid plagiarism is to remember to cite all the sources of the information you used

If you did not write or create something you are using in a paper or project, you must cite the source.  That includes images, maps, graphics, sound clips, multimedia, and other materials you might have found in books, articles or on the Web.

For more information about ethical use of information and how to cite your sources, refer to the library's Citation Styles tutorial.

The library also has RefWorks, a citation management tool, that students can use to organize their sources by research topics and create bibliographies in any of the major citation style formats. FMI: check out the RefWorks Tutorials.

Some Basics

For every paper or project you prepare for a class, you will need to include a bibliography or list of the information sources used. Every source you use MUST be cited...books, articles, websites, graphics, images, charts, audio files, video clips, etc.

If you have used someone else's ideas, words, images, etc., you need to give credit to them as the authors or creators.

You also want your professor and anyone else who reads your work to be able to identify and locate the sources you used. Plus, citations lend credibility and authority to your research paper or project!

Golden Rule: If you are not the original author or creator of a resource you incorporate into your paper or project, you need to cite it!

 

The Bedford Handbook

UMF students are required to have the Bedford Handbook as a writing and research resource.  The library has a copy of the 8th edition (2010) in the Reference stacks located on the first floor of the library.

The Bedford Handbook (8th ed.) - Diana Hacker
Call Number: Ref. PE 1408 .H277 2010

Other Related Resources

For more information about incorporating sources into your research papers and projects and using information ethically, check out these additional resources:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip