This is the "Home" page of the "eBooks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

eBooks   Tags: tutorial  

Last Updated: Mar 26, 2013 URL: http://umf.maine.libguides.com/ebooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Useful Links

Is There an App for That?

All of UMF's ebook collections are available on your web-enabled devices through our library website. Some of the collection vendors, such as Ebsco and Springerlink, say they are "mobile optimized" and "web responsive" - they will automatically detect the kind of device you are using, and provide you with the optimal interface.

Additionally, most of the collection vendors, with the exception of Credo Reference, offer mobile apps for iOS and Android. Installing the app allows you to access the database directly via smart phone, and view, download, and (in some cases) email ebook content. The apps vary, so read the specifics before you download.

Ebsco

iPhone

Android device

Ebrary

iPhone


Android device

Springerlink

iPhone

 

Gale Reference Center 

 

What is an ebook?

What is an eBook?  

eBook stands for electronic book - a text which has been published in a digital format. Ebooks can be read via computer and eReader (i.e. Kindle, Nook, or Kobo). UMF has different forms of electronic texts in our collection. For more information about UMF's digital resources, how to find them in our URSUS catalog, and how to get the most from the collections' various features, click through the tabs in this libguide.

 

eBook Collections at UMF

 

Why eBooks?

Why are University of Maine libraries purchasing eBooks?

  • eBooks are available anytime, anywhere you have access to the internet, on or off campus. The library does not have to be open to access electronic resources. This is especially helpful to Distance Education students, who may not be able to visit the library. 
  • It varies by vendor, but many of our eBooks can be used by several students simultaneously - no more waiting for a book you need to be returned.
  • Some titles are only published in eBook format.
  • Research on the go? No problem. Many of our electronic resources can be downloaded to your portable devices - tablets, eReader, or smart phone. 
  • Digital resource publishers can edit and update their products constantly. Not having to buy new editions every time changes are made saves shelf space in the library.
  •  eBook features like keyword searchability, online note-taking, and citation organizers are attractive to many students.

Is there a downside to eBooks?

Sort of. It's called DRM (Digital Rights Management). Right now, publishers and vendors decide how thier digital products can be used: the number of students that can view them, if the eBooks can be downloaded, how many pages can be printed, etc. Since there is no standard, and digital rights vary from product to product, it can be very confusing to students who are trying to use our eBooks. The chart to the left of this column was made to make navigating the collections a little easier.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip